Whacky Races

Image

Since having to confront reality and return to the office the training regime has taken a bit of a hit and I’m just hoping now that I did enough in the cold and the wet to stand me in good stead. At best I can get in one good ride on the weekend and in between those rides I have to make do with my commute which is now just 7 miles each way between Balham and The City. All I can do is treat this as a series of sprints between traffic lights and it’s hard to really work up much of a sweat. But one thing that has surprised me is just the sheer number of cyclists back on the roads now that it’s summertime(ish) and how every single one of them seems to be riding their own private time trial. I’d like to say ‘it’s not a race’ but of course they’re probably all no better than me, trying to squeeze some sort of a work out from a half hour turn of the pedals. 

Leave a Reply

